Continuing Education Requirements

This information is provided as a general guideline but must be confirmed by your state board.

 

ALASKA—TPA 36 Hours Biennially; DPA 24 Hours Biennially

 
Due December 31
 
 

Pharmaceutical/ocular disease

Up to 24 hours 

 

Practice management (live)

Up to 3 hours allowed

 

Video/internet/postgraduate correspondence

Up to 9 hours allowed

 

CPR

Not allowed

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Not allowed

 

 

IDAHO—TPA 18 Hours Annually; DPA 12 Hours Annually

 
Due at time of renewal/reinstatement
 
 

CPR

Refresher course required every 2 years

 

Video/internet/postgrad correspondence/PCLI observation

Up to 9  hours allowed

 

Ocular pharmacology/advanced ocular disease

6 hours required for TPA

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Allowed

 

Practice management

Allowed

 

 

MONTANA—36 Hours Biennially

 
Due June 30
 
 

Practice management/CPR

Up to 4 hours allowed

 

Video/internet/postgraduate correspondence

Up to 12 hours allowed

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Not allowed

 

 

NEW MEXICO—22 Hours Annually

 
Due June 30
 
 

Oral Pharmaceuticals (all optometrists) Effective July 1, 2013

10 TPA hours required

 

Internet type course

2 hours allowed

 

CPR

Not allowed

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Not allowed

 

CPR certification required but training not allowed for required CE hours.

 

 

OREGON—18 Hours Annually

 
Due 1st day of birth month
 
 

Ethics or Oregon Law and Administrative Rules

1 hour required every other year

 

Pharmaceuticals/ocular disease

Minumum of 9 hours required

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Up to 5 hours allowed

 

Video/internet/postgraduate correspondence

Up to 18 hours allowed

 

CPR

Not allowed

 

Practice management

Not allowed

 

Current healthcare practitioner CPR certification required if licensed to use advanced TPA. CPR certification must be current at all times. No CE credit is granted for CPR certification. When a CPR card is renewed, no hands-on course is required. The online healthcare provider course is acceptable. Ethics courses must be approved by the Oregon Board.

 

 

WASHINGTON—50 Hours Biennially

 
Due on Birthday
 
 

CPR

Up to 10 hours allowed

 

PCLI clinical and surgical observation

Allowed

 

Practice management

Up to 10 hours allowed

 

Video/internet/postgraduate correspondence

Up to 25 hours allowed